FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
- Names are randomly selected from the list of names supplied by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
- Qualified jurors must be 18 years old, resident of Florida and Charlotte County and possess a valid driver’s license or identification card issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. A passport is also an acceptable form of identification.
- Complete the affidavit of eligibility to serve as a juror form to qualify for selection as a juror. Affidavit of Eligibility to serve as a Juror
Florida Law requires that the term of service is one week. This means if you are not selected as juror
but did report, your service is complete. If you are selected as juror, you will serve until the trial
Note: Being on “standby” is not considered as having “served” on jury duty.
- You will need to bring a valid Florida driver’s license or identification card issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You will also need to bring your summons.
- Per Court Security and Access Control Policy and Procedures section 2 (A) (viii) Jurors, with approved summons or juror badges, will be permitted to bring food and beverages through the security checkpoint, also subject to inspection.
- Vending machines are available.
Yes you may however, please be advised that the following is prohibited per Judicial Administrative Rule 2.451
- Making or transmitting still or moving photographs, audio recordings, video recordings, or images of any kind of the court proceedings
- Transmitting or accessing text or data during the court proceedings
- Transmitting or accessing text or data about the case on which the juror is serving
- Researching, transmitting, or accessing information about the case on which the juror is serving
- Otherwise communicating about the case on which the juror is serving or
- Otherwise communicating about the jury deliberations
EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION / COMPENSATION
- If your regular employment pays your regular wage while serving as a juror, you will not be entitled to compensation from the State for the first three (3) days of service.
- If you do not have regular employment or if you will not receive your regular wage, then you will be entitled to receive $15 per day for the first three (3) days.
- If you serve more than three (3) days, employed or unemployed, the State will pay you $30 per day from the fourth (4th) day and each day thereafter.
- Juror payments will not jeopardize your unemployment benefits if you receive compensation for services as a juror.
- Juror cash payments is an available option that is offered each day. When a juror is on a trial lasting more than one day, a cash payment can be picked up at the Clerk’s Central Intake area on the first floor. Jurors can do this each day or wait until the end of the week on Friday. If a juror wishes to wait until the end of the week on Friday, this must be done at 2:00 p.m.
Florida Statute 40.24(8) allows jurors to irrevocably donate ALL of their compensation to a domestic violence shelter. In Charlotte
County all proceeds are donated to the Center for Abuse and Rape Emergencies (C.A.R.E.).
Once the election to donate is made, each additional day that a juror serves will be automatically donated.
- No. Florida state law does not require employers to compensate their employees while they are serving on jury duty.
- No. Florida law prohibits any employer from preventing a person from serving as a juror or firing an employee who is serving on jury duty.
- If you are summoned to report and you fail to attend without being properly excused, you can be fined up to $100 as well as be held in contempt of court.
- Florida law does not provide for an excuse from jury service for moral or religious beliefs. You are still required to appear for jury service. Only the Court has that discretion. You may address these concerns when you are before the Judge.
- The Florida Statutes requires the selection to be random and all names are placed back on the list every year. Jurors are selected from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle file; which includes both licensed Florida drivers and those who have a Florida identification card. Jurors who have served within one year from their last service date may be excused.
The following items are restricted:
- No Tank Tops
- No Uniforms
- No Shorts
The following items are allowed for your comfort and convenience:
- Bring a sweater or jacket for AC
- In consideration of individuals who suffer from medical conditions aggravated by odor, fumes, and other respiratory irritants, jurors are requested not to wear strong fragrances. This includes personal products such as perfumes, after-shave, lotions, deodorants and hair spray. Thank you.